Renaissance recorder consort

Workshop marks/signs on instruments

Sigmund I and Arzasius Schnitzer, 1557
C+ Extension G, c f, c’, g’
Pitch: a = 460/465 Hz.

Three generations of the family Schnitzer were responsible for a boom in the woodwind manufacture of musical instruments in the sixteenth century. This can be compared to the Denner Family period of some two hundred years later.

Father to this dynasty was Albecht Schnitzer, town piper and pipe maker
(Woodwindmaker ) in Munich.
He died in either 1524 or 1525.
He had been a notable and much sought-after maker of instruments., as can be understood from a letter from his grandchild Veit Schnitzer, written to King Karl V. in the year 1555.

The sign can be followed back to Albert. He signed with a single “A”
His sons and successors used the same sign. Also Hans (buried 1565) used this sign too.
Others including: Sigmund (+1557/ and Arzasius (?), probably also Mathes (+1553) used the sign AA.

All of them were town pipers and pipe-makers.. Hans, Sigmund, Mathes in Nuremberg and Arzasius in Munich.
In addition to these named persons there are at least another 3 members of the family Schnitzer who were also pipe-makers in the 16th century. This can be read in the letter by Veit mentioned above.
Going by the style and shape of the sign, it definitely reminds one of a pair of compasses.
Possibly from a free mason tradition.
Instruments made by the family Schnitzer were not only to be found in Germany, but were also found in France and Italy.

Verified recorders:
 a) Tenor recorders
     Kunsthistorischen Museum Vienna, C.163
     Tenor recorder in c’, a=460, signed A.A.
     Muziek Instrumenten Museum (MIM) Brussels, M 1034
     Tenor recorder in b, a =460, signed A.A.

 b) Bass recorders
aa) Braunschweig, Städtisches Museum, Ck 83
     Basset recorder in g, a =460, signed A.A.

     bb)Kopenhagen, Musikhistorisk Muset, E.78 (Kat. Nr. 38)
     Basset recorder in g, a =460, signed A.A.

      cc) Brussels, Musiek-Instrumenten Museum, Nr. 1032
      Basset recorder in g, a =460, signed A. (Maker Albert or maybe Hans).

These recorders are of such a high standard and quality, that I feel making a consort based on these originals is an absolute must.
Great bass recorders in c and with extension are based on the instruments of Rauch von Schratt.

G.M. Klemisch, „Die Kernspaltflöte um 1500“ in „Heinrich Isaac und Paul Hofhaimer im Umfeld...“, Innsbruck 1997)
Ekkehart Nikkel, „Der Holzblasinstrumentenbau in der Freien Reichsstadt Nürnberg“, München 1971, ISBN 3-87397-008-2 William Waterhouse, „The New Langwill Index“ London, 1993, ISBN 0-946113-04-1
Pillip T. Young , 4900 Historical Woodwind Instruments, London 1993, William Waterhouse